2022 PBR Team Series Inaugural Season Event Schedule Announced


Eight Founding Teams to Host Bull Riding “Homestands” in New League Competition

(press release provided by the PBR (Professional Bull Riders)

PUEBLO, Colo. (March 4, 2022) – PBR (Professional Bull Riders) today announced the event schedule for the 2022 PBR Team Series season. The elite new league that will feature the world’s top bull riders competing in five-on-five bull riding games was announced earlier this year, with teams in Austin, TX; Fort Worth, TX; Glendale, AZ; Kansas City, MO; Nashville, TN; Oklahoma City, OK; Ridgedale, MO; and Winston-Salem, NC.

The PBR Team Series’ inaugural 11-event season will include a three-day homestand event hosted by each of the eight founding teams. The 2022 season will begin with neutral site games in Cheyenne, Wyoming and will culminate in a team championship at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas November 4-6, 2022. An additional neutral site event will be held in Anaheim, Calif.

The 2022 PBR Team Series event schedule is as follows:

Date                    City                                    Venue                                              Home Team

July 25-26           Cheyenne, WY                 Cheyenne Frontier Days              Neutral Site

Aug. 5-7              Kansas City, MO              T-Mobile Center                            Kansas City Outlaws

Aug. 12-13          Anaheim, CA                    Honda Center                                Neutral Site

Aug. 19-21          Nashville, TN                    Bridgestone Arena                        Nashville Stampede

Aug. 26-28          Austin, TX                         Moody Center                               Austin Gamblers

Sept. 3-5             Ridgedale, MO                 Thunder Ridge Amphitheater    Missouri Thunder

Sept. 9-11           Winston-Salem, NC         LJVM Memorial Coliseum           Carolina Cowboys

Sept 16-18          Oklahoma City, OK          Paycom Center                             Oklahoma Freedom

Oct. 7-9               Fort Worth, TX                 Dickies Arena                                Texas Rattlers

Oct. 14-16          Glendale, AZ                     Gila River Arena                            Arizona Ridge Riders

Nov. 4-6              Las Vegas, NV                  T-Mobile Arena                             Championship


The schedule for individual game matchups during these event weekends and on-sale ticket information will be announced at a later date.

The league will host a PBR Team Series Draft on May 23 prior to the start of the 2022 season, among any bull riders who have declared for the draft during a league eligibility window. To determine team draft order selection, a draft lottery among teams was held in New York on January 7.

“The inaugural PBR Team Series season will play out across a very strong collection of cities, culminating in our Las Vegas Championship,” said Sean Gleason, CEO and Commissioner, PBR. “Each stop on the schedule will be a real happening, with plenty of fun events for fans and opportunities to come together to rally around their team. It will be exciting to watch each local fan base grow.”

The PBR Team Series complements the successful PBR Unleash The Beast premier tour, which held its first championship in 1994 and in 2022 will be staged January – May, with its World Finals in Fort Worth, Texas from May 13-22, 2022.

The PBR Team Series builds on the existing structure of professional bull riding with the same basic rules for judging and scoring qualified 8-second bull rides. Events will be staged in a tournament-style format with all teams competing in head-to-head matchups against a different opponent each day. Each game will feature five riders per team squaring off against another team. Full team rosters will be comprised of seven riders on the core roster and three practice squad members. The team with the highest aggregate score of qualified rides among its riders will be declared the winner of each game. The event winner will be the team with the most game wins across an event, with a special bonus round designed as a tie-breaker to determine final event standings.

All PBR Team Series events will be carried on either the CBS Television Network, streaming live on Paramount+, CBS Sports Network, or RidePass on Pluto TV. 

Sheri Smith  smith@smithprollc.com